Daily Briefs . . .

Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society to host annual lunch

The Annual Membership Luncheon of the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society will be held on Thursday, April 16 at the Detroit Athletic Club. The luncheon, which will begin with a short reception at 11:30, will feature a legal history vignette by author David G. Chardavoyne.

The luncheon is open to all persons interested in Michigan’s legal history. The cost per person is $40. For more information or to make reservations, contact Carrie Sampson by calling (517) 373-7589 or by mailing payment to the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society at 1 Floor Hall of Justice, 925 W. Ottawa Street, Lansing, Michigan 48915.

The Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society was founded in 1988 by Dorothy Comstock Riley, during her term as chief justice of the Michigan Supreme Court. A nonprofit organization, the Society preserves documents, records, and memorabilia relating to the Michigan Supreme Court. It also produces publications, special events, and other projects to achieve its goals in education and restoration.


Dykema chairman elected to Detroit  Economic Club board

Dykema chairman and CEO, Peter Kellett, has been elected as a member of the Detroit Economic Club (DEC) board of directors.

 The Detroit Economic Club was formed in 1934 as a non-partisan, non-profit organization committed to the discussion and debate of important business, government and social issues. The DEC continues to provide a platform for distinguished international dignitaries and business leaders, who represent the changing global environment. It is known internationally as an important venue for prominent business and government leaders – a forum they can use to explore issues that will help shape the dynamic 21st century economic environment.

Directors are asked to support the DEC in numerous ways, from recommending speakers to periodically performing duties of the president officer and attending DEC meetings and luncheons when schedules permit.
Kellett has been Chairman and CEO of Dykema since 2012, and previously served in several management positions at the firm, including as Litigation Practice Group Leader (2003-2007) and Litigation Department Director (2008-2011).

The DEC is chaired by William Clay Ford, Jr., Executive Chairman of Ford Motor Co. Other board members include Roger Penske, Chairman of Penske Corporation; Dave Bing, Mayor of Detroit; The Honorable Ruth Johnson, Michigan’s Secretary of State; Mary Barra, Chief Executive Officer of General Motors Company; Keith E. Crain, Chairman of Crain Communications, Inc.; Dr. Lou Anna K. Simon, President of Michigan State University; the Honorable Damon Keith, Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; Dorothy Deremo, President and CEO of Hospice of Michigan; John Fikany, Vice President of Microsoft; and many other leaders.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »