Photo courtesy of MSU Law

Michigan State University College of Law 3Ls Emily Vanderlaan and Joseph Murphy were finalists at the recent Burton D. Wechsler National First Amendment Competition in Washington, D.C. The team finished second to U.C. Hastings in a very close decision before three federal judges: the Hon. Stephen A. Higginson of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, the Hon. Reggie B. Walton of the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia, and the Hon. Timothy B. Dyk of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. This is the fourth consecutive year MSU had a team in the finals of the Wechsler competition. The team was coached in D.C. by Prof. Jennifer Copland and assisted in pre-competition practices by Prof. Copland and alumni David Sheaffer and Mitch Piper (both of whom themselves were Wechsler finalists). Pictured are (l-r) Vanderlaan, Walton, Dyk, Higginson, and Murphy.

Published: Tue, Oct 30, 2018