State - Journalists honored by State Supreme Court for news series on 'Baby Court'

Angie Hendershot and Chris Carr of WJRT-TV(12) in Flint have been honored by the Michigan Supreme Court for their coverage of Genesee County's "Baby Court," the court announced.

In a resolution signed by the seven Justices, the court said that Hendershot and Carr deserve praise for telling "the stories of broken families, and the court's efforts to help them, with great sensitivity, professionalism, and understanding."

Hendershot, an anchor with WJRT, and photojournalist Carr covered the "Baby Court" program, then headed by the late Judge Robert E. Weiss, for over three years. The series told the stories of young Flint-area families in crisis working to regain custody of their children with the court's support and oversight.

Chief Justice Marilyn Kelly noted that the court's resolution marks only the second time in the court's history that the court has singled out journalists for special recognition. The court did so for the first time in 2007, when it honored Jack Kresnak, then a reporter with the Detroit Free Press, for his coverage of children's issues.

"Ms. Hendershot and Mr. Carr, with the support of their news director, Jim Bleicher, have achieved something truly remarkable with their series," Kelly said. "Their long-term coverage of 'Baby Court' is an example of the best in broadcast journalism."

Justice Maura D. Corrigan presented the resolution on behalf of the Court at an awards ceremony in Flint last Thursday, where Hendershot and Carr also received the American Judicature Society's Toni House Award for their work. Hendershot and Carr, who are co-recipients of the House Award with Associated Press Special Correspondent Linda Deutsch, are the first television journalists to receive the AJS award, which recognizes outstanding coverage of the courts. This year's House Award marks the second time the AJS has so honored Michigan journalists; Kresnak, now president of Michigan's Children, was the first Michigan journalist to receive the House Award.

Earlier this month, Hendershot and Carr received an Edward R. Murrow Award for their series. They have also received the State Bar of Michigan's Wade H. McCree, Jr. Award.

Published: Wed, Oct 20, 2010


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »