Duly Noted

 Women Lawyers seeks nominations for annual member award

The Women Lawyers of Michigan (WLAM) Western Regional Annual Award is given each year to commend a lawyer or judge for his/her outstanding accomplishments and professionalism, dedication and excellence to furthering the objectives of WLAM.  The award will be presented at the WLAM Western Region annual meeting on May 14.

Any current WLAM Western Region member who is in good standing is eligible to be nominated. (For other requirements, see below.)
Nominations will be accepted until Feb. 28. The nomination should contain a concise statement about the nominee and the reasons she/he should receive this award.  Nominations, or eligibility questions, should be emailed to Region President Kimberly Large, klarge@mmbjlaw.com.
Eligibility:  Any current WLAM Western Region member in good standing, who is not a current WLAM Western Region Board member, and has not previously won this award.  Recipient must be able to attend the annual meeting May 12 to receive the award.  

The recipient of the award shall have undertaken some or a combination of the following: 1. taken significant actions to advance the position and goals of WLAM Western Region and/or recognized and satisfied a need of WLAM Western Region and/or its membership through work and activities as a WLAM member.  (Examples include efforts to increase membership and/or strengthen WLAM management; significant educational and/or networking contributions; etc.); 2. actively promoted and represented the highest standards of integrity, fairness, and leadership;  3. encouraged and mentored others, particularly women attorneys; 4. participated in significant volunteer activities in our community and beyond, particularly those advancing or addressing women’s needs; 5. promoted improvements in the administration of justice and/or equality and social justice for all people; 6. Improved relations between the legal profession and the public.

Past winners are:
2013 Nikole Canute 
2012 Ingrid Jensen 
2011 Lisa DeFerrari 
2010 Elizabeth Lykins 
2009 Judge Smolenski 
2008 Jennifer Puplava 
2007 Lynn Perry 
2006 Judge Neff 
2005 Kris VandenBerg 
2004 Ann Cooper
For more information about WLAM Western Region, and our upcoming events, please visit the website and blog at: http://www.womenlawyers.org/mid-michigan/blog