Sixteen Lawyers admitted to the State Bar of Michigan

By Roberta M. Gubbins

Legal News

Thomas M. Cooley Law school became a courtroom on November 8th when sixteen new lawyers from were presented for admission to the State Bar of Michigan. Chief Judge Pro Tempore--30th Circuit Court, Janelle Lawless, presided over the hearing.

James D. Robb, Associate Dean of Development and General Counsel, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, opened the ceremony, welcoming the candidates and their families to Cooley.

"Each year we do the swearing in ceremony in collaboration with the Ingham County Bar Association and the Ingham County Circuit Court. I especially welcome the families and friends of the lawyers here. Your support has helped sustain these new lawyers through much study, research, class attendance, moot court arguments, externships and all the other things they have done."

B. Pat Gallagher, President, Ingham County Bar Association, convened the Court.

"This is one of the best things I do as part of my duties as Judge in Ingham County," Judge Lawless said. "And one of the happiest. Congratulations to all of you."

Each of the sixteen prospective lawyers was called to the podium with their sponsors who moved for their admission to the bar. After Judge Lawless granted the motions, all were asked to return to the podium where they repeated the Oath of Office.

The new admittees are:

Benjamin Beiter

John Cary

William Dummett,Jr.

Elizabeth Chandakly

Matthew Keitz

David Matelski

Donald Rencher

Ryan Shannon

Jesse Thomas

Matthew Bartlebaugh

Nexihe Colak

Jonathan Kaoudelka

Michael McIntosh

Daniel Patru

Hongyan Xue

A reception to honor the new lawyers followed the swearing in ceremony.

The court reporter for the event was Yvonne Lantz. Free transcripts of the swearing in are available through O'Brien & Balls Court Reporters. (

Published: Thu, Nov 25, 2010