Muskegon County Bar Association 2011 Law Day program


By Diana L. Coleman
Legal News

Law Day 2011 “The Legacy of John Adams from Boston to Guantanamo” attendees filled the banquet room at the Muskegon Holiday Inn to overflowing as the Muskegon County Bar Association (MCBA) held its annual Law Day ceremony. From the keynote speaker to the Liberty Bell Award, the program was a great event.

The room was filled with attorneys, judges, distinguished guests, students and their teachers and parents, and former winners of the Liberty Bell Award.

MCBA’s law education fund and the diligent efforts of MCBA members raising funds provided the opportunity for the bar to present approximately $5000 in scholarships and savings bonds to outstanding area students.

The 2011 Liberty Bell award was presented to two members of the law enforcement field this year. Henry Roesler, Jr. has spent his lifetime in law enforcement and public service. Roesler shared the award with Clifton Johnson (posthumously), Muskegon Heights Chief of Police who passed away unexpectedly in November 2009. Johnson’s widow and family were present to accept the award.

Maryanne Leech, juvenile probation officer, received the Frank B. Scott Award for her dedicated service in the probation field. Leech was nominated by Eric Stevens, Muskegon County Family Court Supervisor, and was presented the award by David Waterstradt, Law Day Chair.

There were no losers. All student finalists received plaques and monetary gifts (savings bonds or scholarships) and the parents and teachers of the winning students were present to support them.

David Vermeulen of Nellie B. Chisholm Middle School in Montague was the recipient of the Golden Apple award. Vermeulen has won this award in the past and his students cannot say enough good things about him and the impact he has had on their understanding of the government, the judicial system, and the rule of law.

More in-depth information about individual award winners will be published in subsequent issues of the Muskegon County Legal News.

The 2011 Law Day Committee planning this year’s ceremonies was composed of David Waterstradt, Chair, Honorable Maria Ladas Hoopes, Belinda Barbier, Jenny McNeill, Jennifer Hylland, Heidi Hagen, David B. Kortering, Kevin Huss, D. J. Hilson, and Rachael Terpstra. Their efforts bore fruit in an outstanding event.