Boonstra named by Snyder to Judges Retire- ment Board


By Frank Weir

Legal News

Well-known and liked Miller, Canfield, Paddock, and Stone principal in Ann Arbor Mark Boonstra has been appointed by Gov. Snyder to the Michigan Judges Retirement Board.

The appointment was announced last week.

The board oversees the Judges Retirement System Defined Benefit Plan. Also appointed were Diana D'Agostini and Rick Simonson

At the time of the appointment announcement, Snyder was quoted as saying, ''These qualified appointees bring the needed experience and expertise to oversee the retirement system for this group of dedicated public servants,'' Snyder said.

As most know, Boonstra, of Dexter, is a senior principal with Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone, P.L.C. in the firm's Ann Arbor office.

He is a practicing attorney with 27 years of legal experience covering all aspects of general business and commercial litigation and counseling. He earned a bachelor's degree from Michigan State University, and a master's degree in applied economics and law degree from the University of Michigan.

He represents the general public on the board and replaces Chris Swope.

D'Agostini, of Bloomfield Hills, was elected judge in the 48th District Court in Oakland County in 2000 and was re-elected in 2006. She previously served from 1991 to 2000 as an Oakland County assistant prosecutor.

She earned a bachelor's degree from Wayne State University, a law degree from the Detroit College of Law and also studied at Florida State University and Oxford University. She will represent active judges and fills a vacancy.

Simonson, of Lansing, is retired after a career in public service where he served as chief of staff for two different Michigan state Senators, director of state and federal affairs for Oakland County Schools and as deputy superintendent and CFO for Oakland Schools.

Simonson previously served as an education and political consultant and served on the Michigan Judicial Tenure Commission. He is a graduate of Albion College where he double majored in political science and economics. He represents the general public and replaces Francis Spaniola.

Simonson and Boonstra will serve four-year terms, expiring March 31, 2015. D'Agostini will serve for the balance of a four-year term expiring March 31, 2013. Appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

Published: Mon, Jul 4, 2011