Gillett, Shiemke to be honored at State Bar meeting


By Frank Weir

Legal News

Two well-known local poverty law attorneys are being honored at the upcoming state bar meeting in Dearborn, Sept. 14-16.

Bob Gillett, long-time executive director of what is now called Legal Services of South Central Michigan, is the recipient of the Michigan State Bar Foundation Access to Justice Award while Rebecca Shiemke, managing attorney for the Michigan Poverty Law Program, is receiving the Champion of Justice Award.

Gillett noted that, ''I am very appreciative of the role the Bar Foundation has played to promote access to justice for the poor in Michigan-- it means a lot to me to be recognized by such a great organization.

''Obviously, everything I do is done with others here at LSSCM so I really see this as an organizational award more than an individual award."

And Shiemke said, "It's a great honor to be recognized by the State Bar and especially by my peers and colleagues with this award.

"But, I really could not do this work, with all its challenges and rewards, without the many amazing advocates I know and work with who are doing the same kind of work."

Both will receive their awards, along with other award recipients, at a banquet on Sept. 14.

2011 State Bar of

Michigan Award Recipients

Roberts P. Hudson Award: James K. Robinson (posthumously);

Frank J. Kelley Award: Hon. John A. Hallacy, John H. Logie, Hon. Milton L. Mack Jr.;

Champion of Justice Award: Jacqueline Doig; Barry L. Howard and Edward H. Pappas (shared); Kary L. Moss; Professor Monica Nuckolls and Hon. M.T. Thompson Jr. (shared); Rebecca Shiemke;

Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award: A for Attorney Program - Lisa Kirsch Satawa and James Samuels;

John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award: Elizabeth Joy Fossel;

Liberty Bell Award: Kate White and Judy Ellis;

Michigan State Bar Foundation Access to Justice Award: Robert F. Gillett.

In addition the SBM will be presenting a new award this year, the John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award, to Professor Harold Norris.

The award is named for a legendary University of Michigan evidence professor, John Reed, who joined the U of M Law School faculty in 1949.

Currently, he is the Thomas M. Cooley Professor of Law Emeritus at the University of Michigan Law School.

In addition to his years of service on the Michigan faculty, "during which he was repeatedly honored by his students for teaching excellence," the schools Website said, "Professor Reed has served as dean at the University of Colorado Law School and, in retirement, at Wayne State University School of Law."

His namesake award will be presented periodically to a professor from a Michigan law school "whose influence on Michigan lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in Michigan," an SBM spokesperson said.

The following individuals are recipients of State Bar Representative Assembly Awards, which will be presented at the assembly's Sept. 15 meeting in Dearborn.

2011 State Bar Representative Assembly Award Recipients

Michael Franck Award: Clark C. Johnson

Unsung Hero: Karen Gullberg Cook and Mayra Lorenzana-Miles.

Published: Mon, Sep 5, 2011