Wayne Law Honors Convocation celebrates student achievement


 More than 80 scholarships, fellowships, awards and prizes were presented to accomplished students at the Wayne State University Law School Honors Convocation on Wednesday, Nov. 14. The ceremony recognizes exceptional students and gives some of them a chance to meet their scholarship donors in person.

Forty-nine percent of Wayne Law’s juris doctorate candidates received scholarships for the 2011-12 school year. Many of the awards are funded by former and current faculty members, alumni, and law firms. Student recipients are chosen based on academic success, involvement in Wayne Law School and community activities, financial need, or interest in a specific career.
“On behalf of the Law School, its faculty and staff, I would like to extend special thanks to our generous donors and benefactors,” said Wayne Law Dean Robert Ackerman. “It is through their efforts that our students are offered this annual recognition and support, allowing them to focus more on their studies and less on finances while students at Wayne Law.”
Among the students named to the Order of the Coif, an honor awarded to 2011-12 graduates who excelled academically, were: Brett Asher, Frederick Dewey, Caroline Giordano, Valerie Jackson, Michael Jameson, Lauren Kwapis, Kate Matlen, Nicholas McElhinny, Nicholas Mull, Stefanie Phillips, Heather Piotrowski, Laura Rogers-Raleigh, Adam Southworth, Margaret Stalker, Bradley Taormina, Brian Wolfe, and Katie Zeiter.
Gold Key Certificates were presented to a dozen students who earned a grade point average of 3.9 or higher during 2011-12. The honorees included: Kylie Angileri, Kameron Bonner, Steven Craig, Patrick Guntonk, Steven Helton, Mary Hennessey, Daniel Kosmowski, Paul Mardirosian, James Martone, Michael Rock, Michael Serra, and Adam Wallace.