Nominations are now open for 2023 State Bar awards

Nominations are open for six State Bar of Michigan awards. The deadline  is 5 p.m. on Friday, March 3. Last year’s non-winning nominations will carry over for consideration this year. Nomination forms are available at

• The Roberts P. Hudson Award, the highest award conferred by the Bar, goes to a person whose career has exemplified the highest ideals of the profession. 

• The Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a Michigan attorney holding elected or appointed office. 

• The Champion of Justice Award is given for extraordinary individual accomplishments or for devotion to a cause. 

• The Kimberly M. Cahill Bar Leadership Award was established in memory of the 2006–2007 SBM president. This award will be presented to a recognized local or affinity bar association, program, or leader for excellence in promoting the ideal of professionalism or equal justice for all, or in responding to a compelling legal need within the community during the past year or on an ongoing basis.

• The John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award, named after a Grand Rapids attorney who was dedicated to making legal services available to all, recognizes a member of the State Bar who excels in commitment to pro bono issues. This award carries a cash stipend to be donated to the charity of the recipient’s choice.

• The John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award  will be presented periodically to a professor from a Michigan law school whose influence on Michigan lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice.

Nominations should include sufficient details about the nominee’s accomplishments to allow the committees to make a judgment. Any SBM member can nominate candidates for awards.