Monday Profile- Bonnie Shaw

 By Jo Mathis

Legal News
Residence:  Brighton.
Which living person do you most admire?  I can't choose just one, but I generally admire people who have large families.
What is the trait you hate most in yourself?  Spending too much time getting things done and not enough time stopping to smell the roses.
What is the trait you hate most in others?  Cruelty.
If you suddenly had an extra room in your house, what would you do with it?  Make it a large closet with organizers.
Currently reading … Patents and invention disclosures.  I can’t bring myself to read casually when  there is work to be done.
My favorite item of clothing …  I love jewelry – I guess that is more of an accessory than a clothing item!
What was your most memorable meal?  Once a year, my husband and I have dinner at the Novi Chop House, the same place we had one of our first dates, and where he later proposed.
What is your most treasured material possession?  My engagement ring – I knew my husband was serious when he gave me such a nice ring!
If you could do one thing professionally …  I would love to manage and work on the patent portfolio of a few medium or large companies.  I would provide them with quality work at a good value.
If you could have any car in the world, what would you drive?  A Cadillac Escalade – luxury, fits the whole family, and handles well during Michigan winters.
Favorite local hangouts:  Real Seafood, Olive Garden, Bar Louie.
Your proudest moment(s) as a lawyer?  Working tirelessly on the litigation team for a five-week-long arbitration, in which our client obtained a highly successful award.  A close second was scoring 187 on the multi-state Bar Exam; apparently, I studied too hard. 
What would surprise people about your job?  The work can be difficult, but the atmosphere is very laid back and flexible.  Also, I spend a lot of time reading and writing at my desk, unlike a TV lawyer. 
What do you consider the most overrated virtue?  Temperance, but only because I could use some improvement in that area!
 What’s your greatest achievement? My husband and four boys – more of a blessing than an “achievement.”
What would you say to your 16-year-old self? Toe the line. Your thirties are going to rock!
Do you have spiritual beliefs?  Yes, very much so.  I try to be a devout Catholic.
What’s the oddest thing you ever bought?  In college while watching an infomercial at 3 a.m., I bought an electric stomach wrap that was supposed to provide a fit look.
What would be your ideal job?  Partner in a small firm, managing and working on patent and trademark portfolios.  I also might like to dabble in a little litigation. 
What is something most people don't know about you?  I love camping and spending time with family and friends.  We took our four boys on seven camping trips last year.  We also sprinkled in a few camping trips with our friends (without the kids). 
What’s the best thing about having four boys?  The joy and laughter that family time brings.  I love how they all play together, how the older ones help the younger ones, and how the younger ones look up to the older ones. 
What’s the worst thing about having four boys?  Cleaning up after them, especially organizing their toys and cleaning their bathroom.
What’s one thing you can do now that you couldn’t do 20 years ago?  Draft a document for sixteen-plus hours with virtually no breaks.   
Favorite place to spend money:  Las Vegas.
What is your motto?  The Golden Rule –Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  
Where would you like to be when you're 90?  In a state of grace.