Snyder appoints Poisson to MEDC Executive Committee

LANSING, Mich. — Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Gerald Poisson, of Lake Orion, to the MEDC Executive Committee. He will represent public agencies on the Committee.

The 20-member Executive Committee is charged with overall management and control of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation.

“Gerald has an extensive background in public service and I thank him for his willingness to continue that service on the MEDC Executive Committee,” Snyder said.

The Michigan Economic Development Corporation is a public-private partnership and serves as the state's marketing arm and developer of business, talent and jobs, tourism, film and digital incentives, arts and cultural grants, and overall economic growth. MEDC offers business assistance services and capital programs for business attraction and acceleration, entrepreneurship, strategic partnerships, talent
enhancement and urban and community development. Founded in 1999, MEDC also developed and manages the state's popular Pure Michigan brand.

Poisson is chief deputy county executive of Oakland County, a position he has held since 2009. He has been with Oakland County since 1981, where he began as an assistant prosecuting attorney and has held various positions including chief assistant prosecuting attorney, corporation counsel, assistant deputy county executive and deputy county executive. In his current role as chief deputy county executive, he is responsible for the departments of Human Resources, Health and Human Services, Risk Management, Central Services, Corporation Counsel, Special Projects, Regional Issues, Infrastructure, Transit, Cobo
Hall, and the Budget Task Force. He earned a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Michigan State University and a degree from Thomas M. Cooley Law School.

Poisson will serve the remainder of a term expiring April 5, 2018, and replaces Kirk Lewis. Appointments to the MEDC Executive Committee are not subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.