DMBA Foundation's new class of Fellows is largest one ever

 On Thursday, October 31, the Detroit Metropolitan Bar Association Foundation announced its largest class of Fellows since the organization began the program in 2006.

The new Fellows will be recognized during the Foundation’s ninth annual Dennis W. Archer Public Service Award event at the newly-renovated Cobo Center on Wednesday, Nov. 6. Judge Harold Hood is this year’s Archer Award honoree.

The Bar Association Foundation’s Fellows program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the practice of law and who are exemplary lawyers in the community. Fellows make a significant, ten-year commitment to the Foundation and are named either Patron Fellows, Supporting Fellows, or Fellows.

“The 2013 class of DMBA Fellows consists of lawyers who have gained a superior reputation, not only through their practice, but also through their contributions of service to the Bar and the Detroit metropolitan community,” said Foundation Fellows Committee Chair Margaret Costello of the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law. “They reflect the high ideals of the legal profession and serve as models for other lawyers in our community, and we are proud and happy to welcome them as fellows.”

Costello is joined on the Fellows Committee by Louis Theros of Butzel Long, Keith Altenburg or Comerica, Judge Denise Page Hood, and Leo Nouhan of Leo Nouhan and Associates.

First given to former Detroit Mayor Dennis W. Archer in 2004, the Dennis W. Archer Public Service Award is presented each year to a metro Detroit legal professional who has demonstrated a longstanding, exemplary commitment to public service and excellence in the practice of law. Sen. Carl Levin, former Gov. Jennifer Granholm, and the Honorable Damon J. Keith are among past honorees. In 2012 the award was presented to Judge Victoria Roberts.

Proceeds from the event fund the DMBAF’s Access to Justice and social service programs including For The Seventh Generation, a foster children’s charity. The event will begin at 6 p.m.; tickets are $125 per person and include a gourmet strolling supper and open bar. Registration is available online at: This year’s sponsors include General Motors, Conway McKenzie, and Plunkett Cooney.

The 2013 Detroit Metropolitan Bar Association Foundation Fellows

Supporting Fellows
William D. Gilbride, Jr., Abbott Nicholson, PC
Hon. Kirsten Frank Kelly
Margaret Sind Raben, Gurewitz & Raben, PLC

Barbara A. Bowman, Bodman, LLP
Boyd E. Chapin, Jr., Garan Lucow Miller, PC
Hon. Maura D. Corrigan, Director, Michigan Department of Human Services
Cheryl Scott Dube, MotorCity Casino
Julie I. Fershtman, Poster, Swift, Collins & Smith, PC
Hon. Patricia Perez Fresard, Third Judicial Circuit Court
Donn Fresard, Wayne County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office
K. Scott Hamilton, Dickinson Wright, PLLC
Richard L. Hurford, Richard Hurford, PC
Michael P. McGee, Miller, Canfield, Paddock & Stone
Dean John R. Nussbaumer, Cooley Law School – Auburn Hills
Francis R. Ortiz, Dickinson Wright, PLLC
Anthea E. Papista, Papista & Papista
Stanley A. Prokop, Plunkett & Cooney PC
Hon. Kelly Ann Ramsey, 3rd Circuit Court, Juvenile Section
Mary Catherine Rentz, Plunkett & Cooney PC
Steven A. Roach, Miller, Canfield, Paddock & Stone
Daniel R.W. Rustmann, Butzel Long, PC
Sheldon J. Stark, Mediator and Arbitrator
T.L. Summerville, Dykema Gossett PLLC
Hon. Lawrence S. Talon, Third Judicial Circuit Court
Morley Witus, Barris, Sott, Denn & Driker PLLC
Kathryn S. Wood, Dickinson Wright PLLC

For more information about the Detroit Metropolitan Bar Association and its Foundation visit: To inquire about Archer Award sponsorship opportunities contact Lorraine Weber at or 313-961-6120, ext. 206.