Celebrate legal scholar, feminist to keynote ABA meeting

Linda Hirshman, lawyer, cultural historian and bestselling author, will keynote the 60th Annual Awards Reception and Banquet of The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation from 6-10 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 6 at the San Diego Natural History Museum, Balboa Park, San Diego, Calif. Hirshman is a feminist and expert historian on social movements for gender equality and gay rights. The title of her remarks will be "Fellowship and Sisterhood."

Hirshman received her JD from the University of Chicago Law School and her Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is a retired professor of philosophy and women's studies at Brandeis University. Hirshman's most recent book is the New York Times bestseller, Sisters in Law: How Sandra Day O'Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg Went to the Supreme Court and Changed the World, the remarkable story of how the two first female justices became the heroines of the modern feminist movement. Sisters in Law details the legacy of both justices through their individual achievements and by working together to make women equal before the law. Library Journal called Sisters in Law "superb," adding Hirshman "excels" in demonstrating the "enormous obstacles encountered by women attempting to enter the legal field." Copies of the book will be available for purchase at the banquet.

Hirshman is also author of Victory: The Triumphant Gay Revolution, a stunning account of the LGBT rights movement, and A Woman's Guide to Law School. "Homeward Bound," her infamous 2005 article in the American Prospect urging women to join the workforce, led to her book, Get to Work: A Manifesto for Women of the World. Hirshman also co-authored Hard Bargains: The Politics of Sex. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Washington Post, Slate, Newsweek and POLITICO.

Recipients of the 2016 Fellows Awards at the San Diego event include Llewelyn G. Pritchard, Outstanding Service Award; Honorable John R. Tunheim and Barbara J. Gislason, Outstanding State Chair Award; Kimberlé W. Crenshaw, Outstanding Scholar Award; and Selma Moidel Smith, Life Fellow Achievement Award.

Published: Thu, Jan 28, 2016


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »