Wayne Law Moot Court elects officers for 2014-15


 Officers for 2014-15 for the Wayne State University Law School Moot Court program are, from left, Zachary Rowley, Kelly Fasbinder, Milica Filipovic, Karinne Marcolini, Parthenia Magharious, Nora Youkhana and Frank Moran.


Seven second-year students have been elected as Wayne State University Law School Moot Court program officers for 2014-15.

New officers are:

• Chancellor Frank Moran of Rochester Hills

• Vice Chancellor Zachary Rowley of Bay City

• Junior Member Advisor Nora Youkhana of Macomb Township

• Senior Member Advisor Milica Filipovic of Sterling Heights

• Director of Outside Competitions Karinne Marcolini of Grosse Pointe Woods

• Problem Writer Kelly Fasbinder of Dexter

• Problem Writer Parthenia Magharious of Toronto

Since 1949, Wayne Law has had a nationally acclaimed student-run Moot Court program that features a rigorous in-house appellate advocacy competition in both fall and winter semesters.

Students prepare appellate briefs involving legal issues in unsettled areas of the law. The students then argue their case in front of third-year Moot Court students. The winning teams reach the final, tournament-style rounds, which are argued in front of practicing lawyers, law professors and judges from the Michigan Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and county circuit courts.

The strongest advocates are selected to represent Wayne Law in both regional and national Moot Court competitions.

Amy Neville is faculty advisor for the program.