Duly Noted

Thomas R. TerMaat appointed to Officers’ Compensation Committee

Thomas R. TerMaat, an attorney with Foster Swift Collins & Smith, P.C. in Grand Rapids, was recently appointed by the Kent County Board of Commissioners to a three-year term on the Officers' Compensation Committee.

The committee determines the compensation of non-judicial elected officials of the County (i.e., County Commissioners, Sheriff, Prosecutor, Clerk/Register of Deeds, Drain Commissioner, and Treasurer).
TerMaat, who joined Foster Swift in 2010, practices in the areas of commercial litigation, general civil litigation, insurance defense, transportation and trucking law, and premises liability.
Miller Johnson announces new and retained leadership positions

Managing Member Craig A. Mutch announced the following leadership positions at Miller Johnson, effective immediately.

Mark E. Rizik will serve as chair and Robert D. Wolford will serve as vice chair of the firm’s Business section.

Peter J. Kok will continue to serve as chair and John F. Koryto will serve as vice chair of the firm’s Employment and Labor section.

Craig H. Lubben will serve as chair and Richard E. Hillary II will serve as vice chair of the firm’s Litigation section.

Julie A. Sullivan will continue as the administrative member in the firm’s Kalamazoo office.

James R. Peterson was appointed Vice General Counsel and Jon R. Muth continues as General Counsel for the firm’s Risk Management.

With more than two dozen attorneys practicing employment and labor law, Miller Johnson has the largest group in West Michigan.