Duly Noted

State Bar of Michigan announces 2016 Board of Commissioners and Representative Assembly Board of Commissioners

Dennis M. Barnes from District H (Wayne, Monroe and Lenawee counties), and Edward L. Haroutunian and Michael S. Hohauser from District I (Oakland County) won contested seats for three-year terms in this year's Board of Commissioners elections.
Four attorneys won unopposed races. Victoria A. Radke, the Delta County Friend of the Court, won a seat in District A, representing the Upper Peninsula and northern Lower Peninsula. E. Thomas McCarthy Jr. of Smith Haughey Rice and Roegge, and Robert J. Buchanan of Buchanan and Buchanan PLC, won in District C, representing Kent, Oceana, Muskegon, Ottawa, Newaygo, Osceola, Mecosta, Clare, Isabella and Gladwin counties. Danielle Mason Anderson won in District F, representing Allegan, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Hillsdale, and other counties.


Representative Assembly

Seven attorneys won contested races for the SBM Representative Assembly. These include Matthew R. Abel and Daniel J. Ferris, 3rd Circuit (Wayne County); Stephen J. Gobbo, Jessica L. Zimbelman and Christopher L. Jackson to represent Ingham County for the 30th Circuit; and Dennis L. Perkins and William H. Hougaboom of Livingston County’s 44th Circuit.

Thirty-one attorneys won unopposed races, including Fourth Circuit, Jackson County—Philip M. Moilanen; Sixth (Oakland)—Henry S. Gornbein, Michael J. Blau, James T. Weiner, Steven L. Rotenberg, Shannon M. Smith, Paul A. Thursam, and Christopher R. Schaedig; Seventh (Genesee)—Nancy K. Chinonis; Ninth (Kalamazoo)—Mark A. Holsomback; 12th (Baraga, Houghton, Keweenaw) —Diana M. Langdon; 13th (Antrim, Grand Traverse and Leelanau)—Lea Ann Sterling; 16th (Macomb)—Karen Trickey Pappas, Randall Chionini, and Laura I. Marji; 17th (Kent)—Michael P. Hanrahan; 22nd   (Washtenaw) —Peter M. Falkenstein;  25th  (Marquette) —Erica N. Payne Roell;  29th (Clinton, Gratiot)—Colleen M. Davis; 31st (St. Clair)—Gerrow D. Mason; 32nd (Gogebic, Ontonagon)—Anna R. Talaska; 33rd (Charlevoix)—Katrina D. Martin; 37th  (Calhoun)—David E. Gilbert; 39th  (Lenawee)—Jennifer A. Frost; 40th (Lapeer)—Bernard A. Jocuns; 41st (Dickinson, Iron, Menominee) — Kristin L. Kass; 42nd (Midland)—Angela M. Cole, Jessica L. Robison; 53rd (Cheboygan, Presque Isle)—Melissa Goodrich; 56th (Eaton)—Jessica S. Fox; 57th  (Emmet) — Christina L. DeMoore.