Duly Noted

Five attorneys elected to Miller Johnson membership

Anne Marie Carson, Ryan P. Duffy, Brittany R. Harden, Amy E. Murphy and Stephen J. van Stempvoort were recently elected to membership at Miller Johnson.  All are in the Grand Rapids office.

Anne Marie Carson has an active corporate practice focusing on mergers and acquisitions and general business services. Carson recently completed a four month secondment in the quality and operations legal team of a medical device and equipment manufacturing company. Carson obtained her J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center and her B.A. from Grand Valley State University.  She is fluent in French and proficient in Spanish and Portuguese. She is an involved member of the Girls on the Run, March of Dimes and the YWCA of Greater Grand Rapids.

Ryan Duffy, as part of the healthcare reimbursement practice group, provides litigation and counseling to medical providers seeking insurance reimbursement on patient accounts.  He also pursues wrongful denials of hospital claims by third-party payers. Duffy received his J.D. from Thomas M. Cooley Law School and his B.A. from the United States Naval Academy. Prior to practicing law, Duffy served nine years in the U.S. Navy as a pilot /flight instructor.

Brittany Harden concentrates her practice on advising clients in the areas of mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance, and general business matters, handling matters involving trademark, copyright, and licensing for corporate clients and start-ups. She earned her J.D. from Thomas M. Cooley Law School  and her B.S. from Grand Valley State University.  Harden is on the Grand Rapids Opportunities for Women of Directors and the Grand Rapids Intellectual Property Women steering committee.

Amy Murphy has litigated a variety of civil, criminal, and appellate matters involving claims of breach of contract, breach of fiduciary duty, theft of trade secrets, professional malpractice, and more.  Murphy graduated from the University of Michigan Law School and the University of Pennsylvania.  She was a law clerk for the Hon. Anthony J. Scirica, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and the Hon. Richard D. Bennett, U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland.  Murphy co-chairs the Young Lawyers Division of the Federal Bar Association Western District, and is an active member of Women’s White Collar Defense Association.

Stephen van Stempvoort focuses on appellate litigation, with an emphasis on the federal courts.  His particular expertise is in First Amendment law, municipal liability, and new technology issues.  He co-chairs Miller Johnson’s pro bono committee.  He served as a judicial law clerk to the Hon. Richard Allen Griffin, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and also for Hon. Glen E. Conrad of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Virginia.  His J.D. is from William and Mary Law School, his M.A. from The Pennsylvania State University and his B.A. from Calvin College,


Subscribe to the Legal News!


Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available