NALS of Michigan announces 2020-2021 state executive board of directors

NALS of Michigan held a membership business meeting via Zoom on May 16.

The following members were elected to the 2020-2021 State Executive Board of Directors: President: Laleise D. Curtiss (NALS of Detroit); Vice President of Membership and Marketing: Rashonda Wilson (NALS of Detroit); Vice President of Certification and Education: Heidi Hopper, PP, PLS (NALS of Lansing); Executive Secretary: Kathy Rood (NALS of Lansing); Treasurer: Natacha Valmont (NALS of West Michigan); and Parliamentarian: Teresa Garber, PP, CLP (NALS of West Michigan)

The 2020 Legal Professional of the Year is Erin Carr, PP, PLS (NALS of Jackson County).

NALS of West Michigan is the recipient of the Clara LaGow award, presented to the local Michigan NALS chapter with the highest percentage of members who passed and obtained the combined ALP (Accredited Legal Professional), PLS (Professional Legal Secretary) and PP (Professional Paralegal) certification during the year.

For more information on membership, visit,

Garber and Valmont also serve on the NALS of West Michigan board of directors, along with Lacey Kremers, Ashley Richards, and Lynn Philp.

NALS of West Michigan is a local chapter of NALS, and has been around for over 50 years, providing continuing legal education, assisting members attain nationally-recognized certifications, and professional development opportunities in the greater Grand Rapids Area.


Subscribe to the Legal News!

Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available