Election: Kent County attorneys among those serving State Bar


The State Bar of Michigan recently announced its 2020 election results:

SBM Board of Commissioners

David C. Anderson, James W. Heath, Judge David A. Perkins, Daniel D. Quick, and Mark A. Wisniewski—won contested seats in this year’s Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2023 Annual Meeting.

David C. Anderson and Daniel D. Quick were elected to serve District I, representing Oakland County. Anderson is a shareholder at Collins, Einhorn, Farrell in Southfield. Quick is a trial lawyer with Dickinson Wright in Troy and national leader of the firm’s commercial litigation practice.

James W. Heath, Judge David A. Perkins, and Mark A. Wisniewski were elected to serve District H, representing Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne Counties. Heath serves as the City of Detroit’s first inspector general. Perkins serves on the 36th District Court in Detroit. Wisniewski is the chairman and CEO of Kitch, Drutchas, Wagner, Valitutti, & Sherbrook.

Two attorneys won unopposed races. Bernhardt (Chris) D. Christenson, III, of Flint, was elected to serve District B, representing Bay, Genesee, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, and Tuscola Counties. He started Christenson & Fiederlein in Flint in 2006.

Robert A. Easterly, of Lansing, was elected to serve District E, representing Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Livingston, Montcalm, and Shiawassee Counties. He is a litigation attorney with Foster, Swift, Collins, & Smith PC.

The SBM Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the State Bar on finance, public policy, professional standards, and member services and communications.

Judicial Tenure Commission

James W. Burdick of Bloomfield Hills won a contested election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2021 and expire on Dec. 31, 2023.

The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts.

SBM Representative Assembly

Matthew M. Aneese, Joshua I. Arnkoff, Colleen H. Burke, Patrick D. Crandell, Jennifer A. Cupples, Peter M. Grace, Melissa E. Graves, Olga Khessina, Michael A. Knoblock, Sheldon G. Larky, Tracey L. Lee, Brian D. O’Keefe, and Matthew J. Turchyn won a contested race for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 6, representing Oakland County.

Sandra K. Carlson, Alena M. Clark, and Sean M. Siebigteroth won a contested race for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 7, representing Genesee County.

Tanya A. Grillo and Angela Medley won a contested race for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 16, representing Macomb County.

Mark W. Jane, Elizabeth A. Kitchen-Troop, Marla A. Linderman, and John W. Reiser III won a contested race for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 22, representing Washtenaw County.
Bernard A. Jocuns won a contested race for terms on the Representative Assembly in Circuit 40, representing Lapeer County.

Twenty-five attorneys won unopposed races:

2nd Circuit—Berrien County: Amber D. Peters

3rd Circuit—Wayne County: Tarek M. Baydoun, Christina B. Hines, Mark M. Koroi, Sean M. Myers, Stephen M. Taratuta

9th Circuit—Kalamazoo County: Donald L. Roberts

10th Circuit—Saginaw County: Jennifer A. Jones, Randy L. Price

11th Circuit—Alger, Luce, Mackinac, and Schoolcraft Counties: Chad W. Peltier

13th Circuit—Antrim, Grand Traverse, and Leelanau Counties: Agnieszka Jury

15th Circuit—Branch County: William D. Renner II

17th Circuit—Kent County: Jason W. Johnson, Jonathan J. Paasch, Philip L. Strom

18th Circuit—Bay County: Amber L. Davis-Johnson

20th Circuit—Ottawa County: Paul F. Kraus

30th Circuit—Ingham County: Nicole A. Evans

37th Circuit—Calhoun County: Patrice O. Lewis

42nd Circuit—Midland County: Christopher G. Komara

44th Circuit—Livingston County: David T. Bittner

45th Circuit—St. Joseph County: John L. Barnes

51st Circuit—Lake and Mason Counties: Tracie L. McCarn-Dinehart

54th Circuit—Tuscola County: Gregory H. Bringard

55th Circuit—Clare and Gladwin Counties: Thomas R. Evans

56th Circuit—Eaton County: Adam H. Strong

The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in State Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body.
SBM Young Lawyers Section Executive Council

Choi T. Portis of Detroit—won an uncontested election in District 1, representing Wayne and Macomb counties, for a two-year term expiring in 2022.

Jerome Crawford of Novi, Kristina A. Bilowus of Southfield, and Angela L. Baldwin of Rochester—won uncontested elections in District 2, representing Oakland County, for two-year terms expiring in 2022.

Christopher B. Wickman of East Lansing and Dustin C. Kamerman of Okemos—won uncontested elections in District 3, representing all Michigan counties except for Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb, for two-year terms expiring in 2022.

The Young Lawyers Executive Council governs the members of the Young Lawyers Section, one of the State Bar’s largest sections. The section provides education, information, and analysis about issues of concern through meetings, seminars, public service programs, and newsletters. The section has won numerous awards for its public service and educational programs.


Subscribe to the Legal News!


Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available