ICBF 9th Annual Memorial Golf Classic


By Roberta M. Gubbins

Legal News

The Ingham County Bar Foundation (ICBF) Ninth Annual Memorial Golf Classic held at the Country Club of Lansing on June 10th was a success. The rain held off and the golfing lawyers, judges and friends were able to complete the 18 holes of golf followed by a reception.

George Zulakis, Event Chair, announced that the Foundation would probably show a profit of $9-10,000 with the help of the contributions from the lawyers and law firms in the area, along with the fees from the golfers.

Honorary Chair: Lawrence Patrick Nolan

This year the ICBF honored and recognized Larry Nolan as their honorary chair. Larry was a founder, board member, and past president of the ICBF, retiring from the board in 2009. The golf outing was initiated by Nolan in 2004, and has benefited from his energy and leadership in chairing every memorial golf outing from 2003 through 2012. The event has grown and has been the most significant annual fund raising event for the foundation each year, largely through Nolan efforts.

Nolan has long been recognized for his outstanding legal abilities. He received the Leo Farhat Outstanding Attorney Award and Thomas M. Cooley Law Schools' Lois A. Smith Distinguished Jurist Award. One of his proudest achievements is his recent election as chairman of the board of Thomas M. Cooley Law School, where he has served as a member of the board of directors since 1983. Larry and his wife Laurel reside in Okemos and are the proud parents of two successful children.

The winners for the day were:

* Flight A: George Zulakis, David Anderson, William Metros and Ryan Zwier

* Flight B: Gary Taylor, Gary Watson, Deep Grewal and Denny Schartzer

* Closest to the Pin: Mark Gabrielse

Each winning team member received a trophy to display in their office and will have their names engraved on the ICBF trophy. All teams received a team photo.

Max Hoffman asked for a moment of silence to recognize deceased members John Apol, Hon. Robert Danhof, Rodger Ederer, Patrick Ehlmann, Joe Foster, Neil Holt, Hon. Arney Mustonen, J. Robinson, John Stenger, Robert Warner, Joanne Williams and Daniel Wright.

Sponsors included:

Gold: Dickinson Wright PLLC, Foster Swift Collins & Smith PC, and Fraser Trebilcock Davis & Dunlap PC

Silver: Abood Law Firm, Alane & Chartier, PLC, Anderson Stull & Associates/Alecia Ruswinckel, Bailey Smith & Bailey, PC, Baird & Zulakis, PC, Church Wyble PC, Dykema Gossett, PLLC, Farhat & Story, PC, Gallagher & Associates CPAs, PLC, Hay & O'Rourke, PC

Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP, McGinty Hitch Housefield Person Yeadon & Anderson, PC, Sinas Dramis Brake Boughton & McIntyre PC, and Willingham & Cote`, PC.

Bronze: Thrun Law Firm, PC and Hackney Grover Hoover & Bean PLC

Hole Sponsors: Bernick Radner & Ouellette PC, Brookover Carr & Schaberg PC, Chalgian & Tripp Law Offices PLLC, David Coleman, David Lick and Richard Hillman, Foster Swift Collins & Smith PC, Gerald L. Oade PC, Grewal Law PLLC, Kallman Legal Group PLLC,

Law Office of Catherine Groll PLLC, Mallory Lapka Scott & Selin PLLC, McCoy Law PLLC

Mertens and Clement PLLC, Hon. Amy Ronayne Krause, Michigan Court of Appeals, Hon. Laura Baird, 30th Circuit Court, Murphy & Spagnuolo PC, Nan Elizabeth Casey PLLC, Robin L. Omer, PLLC, Shaheen Chevrolet, Speaker Law Firm PLLC, Stacia Buchanan, Steve Freeman Attorney at Law, Stuart Dunnings, III, Susan LeDuc, Ted Stroud, Oade Stroud & Kleiman PC, The Nichols Law Firm PLLC, Thomas E. Woods , Cummins Woods, White Law PLLC, White Schneider Young & Chiodini PC, Wilson Lett & Kerbawy PLC, Witzel & Zoeller , Tom Fruechtenicht, and William Metros

Frog and the Beeftones provided entertainment, playing a collection of oldies for the reception.

Published: Mon, Jun 17, 2013