ICBA to hold 120th annual dinner Nov. 20

 The Ingham County Bar Association will hold its 2014 Award Recipients & 120th Annual Dinner on Thursday, Nov. 20, with a reception at 6 p.m., dinner at 7 p.m., and program at 7:30 p.m. The event, to be held in the Crowne Plaza Lansing West, 925 South Creyts Road, Lansing, is sponsored by Alane & Chartier PLC; Foster, Swift, Collins & Smith, P.C.; Fraser Trebilcock Davis & Dunlap, PC; Loomis, Ewert, Parsley, Davis & Gotting, PC; Sinas Dramis Brake Boughton & McIntyre PC; Speaker Law Firm PLLC; and Willingham & Cote, PC.

Kenneth Beall from the Loomis Law Firm in Lansing, will be honored with the Camille S. Abood Distinguished Volunteer Award. Beall, who practices extensively in all aspects of real estate and commercial transactions, dedicates significant volunteer time to the mid-Michigan community, including past service on the Board of Directors for the Capital Area United Way (Chair-2007 and recipient of the Walter A. Campbell Award for Outstanding Volunteerism); the Board of Directors for the Impression 5 Science Center, the Governor’s Task Force on Downtown Revitalization – Lansing Committee and Art of Leadership. He currently serves on the National Leadership Council for the Michigan State University College of Music.
The Leo A. Farhat Outstanding Attorney Award will be presented to Jack C. Davis, also from Loomis, where he is part of the firm’s Business Transactions, Real Estate, Business Entities and Tax Law Departments; and also practices in the area of sports and entertainment law. He has served on several international delegations to advise government leaders on trade and international tax matters for the development of a free market economy. Davis devotes considerable service to education, economic development and the arts. He chaired the Regional Blue Ribbon Panel on Retention of General Motors and was a long-time member of the Lansing School District Board of Education (twice serving as President) and a former Chair of the Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce. He has been Chair of the Lansing Economic Area Partnership (LEAP). He and his wife, Sue, received the Outstanding Philanthropist Award in 2012 by Capital Region Community Foundation.
The Theodore W. Swift Civility Award will be presented to Alecia M. Ruswinckel, of Anderson, Stull & Associates in Lansing, who focuses her practice on general civil matters including probate, real estate, business, and family law. She has served as counsel for businesses in collection actions, property owners in boundary disputes, parents and children in abuse and neglect matters, and parties in divorce and custody actions. A graduate of Cooley Law School, she has served on several committees and commissions, including serving as a Delta Township Planning Commissioner, Committee Member for the State Bar Client Protection Fund and District E Character and Fitness Committee, the immediate past President of the Thomas M. Cooley Alumni Association, and a board member of her Homeowners Association. She also did pro bono legal work through the Service to Soldiers: Legal Assistance Referral Program.
 Gordon VanWieren, of Thrun Law Firm in East Lansing, will be honored with the LSSCM Pro Bono Award, bestowed annually to a lawyer that has made significant contributions through Legal Services of South Central Michigan's pro bono program. A graduate of Michigan State University and Wayne State University Law School, he joined the firm in 1985. He is a member of the State Bar of Michigan (Real Property and Corporation, Finance and Business Law sections), the Ingham County Bar Association and the American Bar Association; and also belongs to the MSU Alumni Association.