MSP honors two with awards


Brianna Briggs of the Michigan State Police Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division (EMHSD) is the 2015 recipient of the Floyd R. Bell Jr. Civilian of the Year Award.

Briggs received the award at a special ceremony in Lansing on Jan. 21.

The Award is named in honor of the late Floyd R. Bell Jr., a 42-year employee of the MSP, who continuously demonstrated commitment and dedication to the department and his community.

"Ms. Briggs' distinguished leadership and dedication exemplify the department's goal of providing service with a purpose, making her a natural choice for the Civilian of the Year Award," said MSP Director Col. Kriste Kibbey Etue.

Briggs serves as a departmental analyst with the EMHSD, where she is known for her dedication, positive attitude, mentorship and leadership skills.

She served as the project manager for two of the division's largest and most visible projects in 2015.

She chaired the organizing committee for the Great Lakes Homeland Security Training Conference and Expo, which attracts more than 1,200 attendees each year; and spearheaded the state's reaccreditation process under the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP). Michigan was in full compliance with all 64 standards during the first review, a testament to the outstanding leadership exhibited by Briggs.

Briggs, who earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan-Flint, started with the department in 2011 as an administrative assistant in the EMHSD and was later promoted to a departmental analyst.

The Mason native resides in Holt with her husband and two children, where she volunteers at her church and assists with her children's school and sporting events.

In addition, Trooper Michael Darrow of the Tri-City Post near Midland was honored as 2015 recipient of the Dr. Carl A. Gerstacker Trooper of the Year Award.

The Gerstacker Award recognizes the MSP trooper or sergeant who symbolizes outstanding professional ethics, dedication to duty and a concern for giving back to their community.

The late Dr. Carl A. Gerstacker, former chairman of Dow Chemical Company, created the award in 1961.

"Trooper Darrow's exceptional work performance, leadership skills and dedication to community outreach make him an excellent choice for the Trooper of the Year Award," stated Etue.

A 15-year veteran of the department, Darrow serves as a community service trooper, is instrumental in several outreach initiatives such as Light Up the City and the Community Action United Team In Our Neighborhood program, known as C.A.U.T.I.O.N., and serves as a team leader for the Michigan Special Olympics Torch Run. He also oversees a new cadet program covering the Flint, Saginaw and Bay City areas.

Darrow has taken on multiple leadership roles in work and community-related programs, and he is known for his dedication to service.

He serves as an instructor for the Student Tools for Emergency Planning (STEP) program, the MSP Teaching, Educating and Mentoring (T.E.A.M.) curriculum and for the youth leadership academies for at-risk youth at the MSP Training Academy in Lansing.

An Army veteran, Darrow enlisted with the department in 2000, and graduated as a member of the 119th Trooper Recruit School.

Published: Mon, Feb 08, 2016