Attorney Discipline Board announces appointments

The Michigan Supreme Court recently announced appointments and reappointments to the Attorney Discipline Board that oversees panels that hear attorney misconduct cases and imposes sanctions, subject to appeal to the Michigan Supreme Court.

Dr. Linda Hotchkiss (layperson member, and a a board-certified psychiatrist) was reappointed to the Board for a term commencing Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Oct. 1, 2023.

Linda Orlans and Alan Gershel  were appointed as attorney members for terms commencing Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Oct. 1, 2023.

Orlans is the founding partner of Orlans PC, a multi-state law firm focused on real estate law. She is a trustee and former Board Chair at Michigan State University College of Law, and serves on the boards of several institutions and community organizations.

Gershel was an assistant U.S. Attorney in Detroit, serving in several leadership positions, and was a professor at WMU- Cooley Law School. He also served 2014-19 as the Grievance Administrator for the Attorney Grievance Commission.

Jonathan E. Lauderbach was appointed chairperson of the Board and Michael B. Rizik, Jr. was appointed vice-chairperson of the Board for terms ending Oct. 1, 2021. Lauderbach is a partner in the Midland office of Warner Norcross + Judd LLP and has served on the Board since 2015. Rizik practices law at Rizik & Rizik Attorneys at Law in Grand Blanc.

The Attorney Discipline Board consists of six attorneys and three non-attorneys appointed by the Supreme Court. Also serving are Barbara Williams Forney, Karen D. O’Donoghue, Michael Hohauser, and Peter A. Smit. Appointees serve on a volunteer basis.