Jackson Women's History Council honors two with Susan B. Anthony awards

The Jackson Women's History Council has announced that Regina Funkhouser and Toni B. Jones are the 2013 Susan B. Anthony award recipients and will be honored at a March 10 recognition dinner at the Cascades Manor House.

The celebration is held in conjunction with March's Women's History Month and will also highlight the 2013 high school essay contest winners.

The annual celebration honors local women and men who share a commitment to equal opportunities and participation for women in our community. The criteria for the Susan B. Anthony award are:

* Lifelong or long-term activity not solely in the field of one's paid work or profession

* Promoting awareness of and political action for women's issues

* Services to women in crisis

* Advancement of educational opportunities for women

* Development of grass roots leadership for the empowerment of women

Funkhouser is spokesperson for Women for Equity and has been devoted to social justice issues for decades while Jones has served for several years as the Jackson County Democratic Women's Caucus Chair, tutored disadvantaged women through the Community Action Agency and served as secretary and membership chair for the NAACP.

Published: Thu, Mar 7, 2013


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »