Nominees sought for Public Service/Pro Bono Award

WCBA members are invited to nominate possible recipients for the fourth annual Washtenaw County Bar Association/Legal Services of South Central Michigan Public Service/Pro Bono Award to be awarded May 8 at the annual Bench-Bar luncheon.

The award is bestowed annually to a lawyer or organization that has made significant contributions to pro bono and/or public service work.

Previous recipients have been Thomas E. Daniels, Jill M. Beasley, James M. Cameron, Jr. and Heidi A. Naasko.

In giving this award, the Board remembers in memoriam the generous personal contributions of Peter Darrow and Robert Harris to individuals in need of legal services and to organized legal aid societies, and hopes that calling attention to their contributions and to those of the award recipients, many others will also be inspired to provide or to continue providing support to individuals in need of legal aid.

The WCBA Public Service Committee is co-chaired by Tracy Van den Bergh and Kate Sharkey

To nominate an individual or organization, email Kyeena Slater, no later than Friday, March 13.

Published: Mon, Mar 02, 2015