'Laddys' awards ceremony hosted by LAD

Legal Aid and Defender Association, Inc. (LAD) will host its second annual "Laddys" awards ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 25, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the A. Albert Taubman Center for Design Services at the College for Creative Studies, 485 W. Milwaukee St.

The ceremony will honor attorneys, law firms, and corporate legal departments for their support of LAD and raise funds for LAD's Civil Law Group and other LAD activities, according to President and CEO Deierdre L. Weir.

"As a result of a reduction in funding and a still-struggling economy, the need for financial support of Legal Aid has never been greater," Weir said. "Support of our Laddy awards ceremony and fundraiser will help us continue our work and give recognition to our volunteers."

At the ceremony, attorneys will receive recognition for exceptional volunteer service representing LAD clients through its Private Attorney Involvement Program. Other awards will be presented to attorneys nominated by the LAD's Federal Defender Office and State Defender Office for outstanding service to LAD or the community in the area of indigent criminal defense.

To date, the following individuals and organizations have been nominated for their exceptional pro bono service through LAD's Private Attorney Involvement program:

* Pro Bono Attorney of the Year--Karen L. Piper, an attorney with Bodman PLC, and Lindsay E. De Moss, an attorney with Dickinson Wright PLLC.

* Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year--Honigman, Miller, Schwartz, & Cohn LLP and Bodman LLP.

* Kelvin W. Scott Pro Bono Corporation of the Year Award--Ford Motor Co. and General Motors Corp.

* Pro Bono Spirit-Macomb County--Jo Ann Bigler, Patrick Gagniuk, and Bryan A. Sunisloe, attorneys in private practice.

* Pro Bono Spirit-Oakland County--Krystal Denise Johnson and Ronald D. Griffith Jr., attorneys in private practice.

* Pro Bono Spirit-Wayne County--Andrea Cartwright, an attorney in private practice, and Danielle J. Hessell, an attorney with Butzel Long PC.

* Friend of LAD--Lynn M. Davidson, director, Macomb County Friend of the Court, and Joon Sung, assistant professor of law, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law.

Nominees for the Pioneer of Justice, Warrior of Justice and Impact on Domestic Violence awards will be announced shortly.

The entrance to the College for Creative Studies is located at the corner of W. Milwaukee and Cass Avenue in the former Argonaut Building. Convenient free parking is available adjacent to the college.

Tickets for the awards ceremony are $75 and are tax deductible. Sponsorship packages are also available. To order tickets or secure sponsorships, contact Bedelia Brown at (313) 967-5619 or bbrown@ladadetroit.org.

Published: Thu, Sep 27, 2012