A hole-in-one highlights annual OCBA golf event


– Photo by John Meiu

Among the golf outing participants Monday, July 27, were (left to right) Justin Cherfoli of Stout Risius Ross; Lynn Capp Sirich of Miller Canfield; David Mendelson of The Mendelson Law Firm in Birmingham; Russ Carniak of Hardy Lewis & Page; and Jeff Hauswirth of Yeo & Yeo.

By Tom Kirvan

Legal News

An ace added spice to Golf ’15, the Oakland County Bar Association’s annual outing July 27 at Oakhurst Golf and Country Club in Clarkston.

Some 108 golfers turned out for the event, which was played under sun-drenched skies and in plus-90-degree heat at the Arthur Hills designed course near Pine Knob.

For Jerry Hall, it was a particularly memorable occasion as he carded a hole-in-one on the 180-yard par 3 eighth hole at Oakhurst. Unfortunately for Hall, a $10,000 cash prize awaited a golfer who aced No. 12, a par 3 measuring 135 yards. The hole-in-one contest was sponsored by Paragon Underwriters. Hall played in a foursome headed by John Bommarito from Attorneys Title Agency.

The winning team at the four-player scramble event was comprised of Alexander Nefouse, Tom Nevells, Brian Allen, and Jeff Ruff, who carded an impressive 11-under 61 on the demanding layout.

Claiming closest to the pin honors for women was Laura Peters, while Jason Okray won the closest to the pin prize for men, according to Kristen Dimich, director of communications for the OCBA.

Smacking the longest drive for women at the tourney was Sarah Nirenberg. Jake Reed hit the longest drive for men at the OCBA outing. The winner of the 50/50 cash drawing at the awards dinner was Mark St. Peter, of Computing Source.

The lead event sponsor of the outing was Stout Risius Ross. The beverage sponsor was Cendrowski Corporate Advisors, while Yeo & Yeo CPAs and Business Consultants served as the golf cart sponsor. Capital Mortgage Funding was the putting green sponsor.

Heading the golf committee this year was Lynn Capp Sirich of Miller Canfield. Other committee members included Russell Carniak, Ethan Holtz, David Mendelson, Rob Morad, Todd Johnson, Celeste Dunn, Jeff Hauswirth, Robert Alpiner, and staff liaison Kristen Dimich.


  1. No comments
Sign in to post a comment »