Local attorneys named to ADB


The Michigan Supreme Court recently announced the following appointments and reappointments to the Attorney Discipline Board – the adjudicative arm of the attorney discipline system in Michigan. The board oversees panels that hear attorney misconduct cases and also imposes sanctions, subject to appeal to the Michigan Supreme Court.

Dr. Linda Hotchkiss (layperson member) was reappointed to the board for a term commencing on October 1, 2020, and ending on October 1, 2023. Hotchkiss is a board-certified psychiatrist.

Linda Orlans and Alan Gershel, both Oakland County residents, were appointed as attorney members of the board for terms commencing on October 1, 2020, and ending on October 1, 2023.

Orlans is the founding partner of Orlans PC, a multi-state law firm focused on real estate law. She is a trustee and former board chair at Michigan State University College of Law, and serves on the boards of several institutions and community organizations in the Detroit area, where she has been widely recognized for her volunteer and philanthropic work.

Gershel was an assistant U.S. attorney in Detroit, serving in several leadership positions, and was a professor at Western Michigan University Cooley Law School, where he taught criminal law, criminal procedure, white collar crime, and evidence. He also served from 2014-19 as the grievance administrator for the Attorney Grievance Commission.

Jonathan E. Lauderbach was appointed chairperson of the board and Michael B. Rizik Jr. was appointed vice-chairperson of the board for terms ending October 1, 2021. Lauderbach is a partner in the Midland office of Warner Norcross + Judd LLP and has served on the Board since 2015. Rizik practices law at Rizik & Rizik Attorneys at Law in Grand Blanc, where he focuses his practice on commercial transactions and litigation, family law, serious personal injury cases, and wrongful death litigation.

The Attorney Discipline Board consists of six attorneys and three non-attorneys appointed by the Supreme Court. Also serving on the board are Barbara Williams Forney, Karen D. O’Donoghue, Michael Hohauser, and Peter A. Smit. Appointees serve on a volunteer basis.


Subscribe to the Legal News!


Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available