SBM announces 2013 Election Results

SBM Board of Commissioners Four attorneys--Danielle Mason Anderson, Dennis M. Barnes, Timothy J. Burns and Edward L. Haroutunian--won contested seats in this year's SBM Board of Commissioners elections. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2016 Annual Meeting. The State Bar Board of Commissioners provides oversight to the various operations of the Bar, such as finance, public policy and member services. Three attorneys won unopposed races to the State Bar Board of Commissioners. Victoria A. Radke, of Escanaba, won in District A, representing the northern lower peninsula and upper peninsula. Radke operatesthe law firm Victoria A. Radke PC in Escanaba. E. Thomas McCarthy Jr. and Robert J. Buchanan, both of Grand Rapids, won in District C, representing Oceana, Muskegon, Ottawa, Newaygo, Kent, Osceola, Mecosta, Clare, Isabella and Gladwin counties. McCarthy is a shareholder with Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge PC in Grand Rapids. Buchanan is managing partner for Buchanan & Buchanan PLC. All will serve three-year terms expiring at the close of the 2016 Annual Meeting. State Bar Representative Assembly Eight attorneys won contested races for the State Bar Representative Assembly. In the Fourth Circuit, representing Jackson County, Philip M. Moilanen and Erica L. Zimny won terms. In the Ninth Circuit, representing Kalamazoo County, Jeffrey J. Dufon won a term. In the 30th Circuit, representing Ingham County, Francis X. Hathaway, Shenique A. Moss, and Michael E. Jankowski won terms. In the 38th Circuit, representing Monroe County, Michael C. Brown and Lisa D. Janos won terms. The 150-member Representative Assembly was created in 1972 to increase the proportion of members who actively participate in Bar policy; it serves as the SBM final policy-making body. SBM Judicial Tenure Commission Thomas J. Ryan won election for a three-year term on the Judicial Tenure Commission that will commence Jan. 1, 2014, and expire Dec. 31, 2016. He is a past president of the State Bar of Michigan, having served as its 66th president in 2000-2001. He is also past president of the Oakland County Bar Association, and served on the Oakland/Livingston Legal Aid board of directors from 1987 to 1995, including a stint as its vice president in 1994-95. He is a member of the State Bar of Michigan, the American Bar Association, the Oakland County Bar Association, the Incorporated Society of Irish American Lawyers, and the Ancient Order of Hibernians. He is the attorney for Beverly Hills, Clarkston, and Keego Harbor, and special counsel for Dexter. He has completed his second term as a member of the Judicial Tenure Commission after first being elected in 2004 and has served as its secretary, vice president and immediate past chair. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Notre Dame and his law degree from the University of Detroit. Ryan, a solo practitioner, was admitted to the State Bar of Michigan in 1973. The JTC is a constitutionally created body that promotes the integrity of the judicial process and preserves public confidence in the courts. Published: Mon, Jul 15, 2013

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available