LSJ hosts Varsity Blues Athletic Sports Award show

The Local Sports Journal hosted its first-ever Varsity Blues Athletic Awards show on Saturday, February 17 at the Frauenthal Theater in downtown Muskegon.

The evening included a blues band, the recognition of three-sport athletes throughout the area and naming the top area athlete in each sport.

Winners were determined on the following criteria: season statistics, career statistics/accomplishments, extra-curricular activities.

Muskegon Big Reds Coach Shane Fairfield honored with Bennie Oosterbaan Coach of the Year Award, on stage with Jason Goorman.

(Photo by Tim Reilly)

Here are the individual sport winners from Saturday night's show:

• Mike Teeter Hardest Working Athlete Award: Chris Aebig, Montague.

• Nick Bultema Three-Sport Athlete Award: Kyle Stratton, Whitehall.

• Rich Tompkins Cross Country Award: Male: Seth Norder, Grand Haven; Female: Jessica Jazwinski, Hart.

• John Swinburne Track and Field Award: Male: Bradley Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian; Female: Addison Hovey, Hart.

• Jensen Brothers Tennis Award: Male: Drew Hackney, Mona Shores. Female: Grace Sweet, Fruitport.

• Sally Sessions Golf Award: Male: Kody Vis, Spring Lake. Female: Paige Anderson, Reeths-Puffer.

• Paul Griffin Basketball Award: Male: Camden Thompson, Whitehall. Female: Mariah Sain, Muskegon.

• MOTIV Bowling Award: Male: Derek Kern, Mona Shores. Female: Bianca Kammers, Reeths-Puffer.

• Ed Bailey Volleyball Award: Navea Gauthier, Shelby.

• Justin Zeerip Wrestling Award: Darnell Mack, Whitehall.

• Marsh Field Baseball/Softball Awards: Baseball: Ben Meyers, North Muskegon. Softball: Kaelinn Jozsa, Oakridge.

• Dan Bylsma Hockey Award: Jackson Stone, Fruitport (Plays for Reeths-Puffer on co-op team).

• Ken Erny Soccer Awards: Male: Arturo Romero, Oakridge. Female: Clara Saunders, Spring Lake.

• Earl Morrall Quarterback Award: M'Khi Guy, Muskegon.

• Dan Raymond Muskegon Motorcycle Club Award: Tanner Cowles, Reeths-Puffer.

• Bennie Oosterbaan Coach of the Year: Shane Fairfield, Muskegon.

• Clayton Cochran Referee Award: Johnnie Tanner.