State Bar of Michigan announces 2024 Award Winners

The State Bar of Michigan Board of Commissioners is awarding special honors to nine Michigan attorneys for their public service and outstanding contributions to the legal profession.

Maura D. Corrigan, former Michigan Supreme Court Chief Justice, is the winner of this year’s Roberts P. Hudson Award, which is the State Bar of Michigan’s highest honor. The Roberts P. Hudson Award is granted periodically to honor an attorney’s unselfish rendering of outstanding and unique service to and on behalf of the State Bar of Michigan, the legal profession, and the public.

Edward Plawecki Jr. and William Wolfson are being honored with the Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award. Plawecki is general counsel and director of governmental relations for UHY Advisors MI, Inc., and Wolfson is chief administrative and compliance officer for the Great Lakes Water Authority. The Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a member of the State Bar of Michigan.

Marilena David, deputy director of the State Appellate Defender Office; Andrew Densemo, assistant federal defender for the Federal Community Defender of the Eastern District of Michigan; Bonsitu Kitaba-Gaviglio, deputy legal director for the ACLU of Michigan; and Erika Riggs, partner with Disability Law Group, are receiving the Champion of Justice Award. The award honors practicing lawyers and judges who adhere to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession, superior professional competence, and extraordinary professional accomplishments that benefit the nation, state, or local community.

Gary Maveal, professor emeritus of the University of Detroit Mercy Law School, is the winner of the John W. Reed Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award, which is given periodically to a Michigan law school educator whose influence on lawyers has elevated the quality of legal practice in our state.

Wendolyn Richards, pro bono counsel and head of the pro bono program at Miller Canfield, is the winner of the John W. Cummiskey Pro Bono Award for her significant pro bono contributions.

The honorees will receive their awards during the Presidential Inauguration and Awards Luncheon on September 19, 2024, at the Troy Marriott. Tickets for the event will go on sale in July.

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available