Michigan Judges Association seeks nominations for excellence award

from State Bar of Michigan sources

Michigan Judges Association (“MJA”) President Timothy G. Hicks announced that the MJA is accepting nominations for its Hilda Gage Judicial Excellence Award.

Given annually, the award recognizes current or former Circuit or Court of Appeals Judges who have demonstrated exemplary service by excelling in trial and docket management, legal scholarship, and contributions to the profession and the community.

This is the third year MJA has given out the award, named in honor of the late Hilda Gage. Judge Gage served with honor on the Court of Appeals and Oakland Circuit Bench before passing away in 2010. She was renowned for her courage and scholarship. She was the first female President of MJA and the first woman to chair the Judicial Tenure Commission.

The Hon. J. Richardson Johnson, Ninth Circuit Court in Kalamazoo, received the award in its inaugural year. Last year’s honoree was the Hon. James L. Ryan, formerly of the Third Circuit Court, the Michigan Supreme Court, and the United States Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Judge Hicks said that MJA seeks nominees who follow in Judge Gage’s footsteps by “serving their state and their communities with integrity, skill, and courage every day.”

Anyone can nominate a judge for the award. The deadline is July 20. Nominating forms can be obtained on the Michigan Judges Association website at www.michiganjudgesassociation.

org, or by calling MJA President Timothy G. Hicks at 231-724-6337.