Legacy Trust announces steering committee for artists with disabilities competition

Legacy Trust announced today the creation of a 13-member steering committee who will lead the statewide 2013 Legacy Trust Award Collection competition for adult artists with disabilities.

The art competition is designed to provide assistance to adult artists with disabilities to participate in ArtPrize 2013.  The committee has been established to guide the contest, now in its fourth year, to expand the number of entries and include more individuals from around Michigan.

This year, the committee has secured the Grand Rapids Art Museum as the venue for the public vote to select three winning artists.  An artists’ reception will be held at GRAM on May 22, with public voting held on May 23.  Winners of the 2013 LTAC will be announced the following week.

“Since we launched this competition four years ago, we have been gratified by the growing number of artists and organizations who have participated,” said Bill Walker, president and CEO of Legacy Trust and originator of LTAC.  “This year, we are looking to play a bigger game by partnering with more artists, more organizations and more businesses that will allow us to truly expand our reach.

“We are particularly pleased that GRAM will host the LTAC competition this year.  There’s no better art venue to showcase our amazingly talented artists, and we are delighted to be able to hold our reception and public vote in what is arguably the leading venue for ArtPrize each year.”

The LTAC committee includes:

—Tim Anderson, chief investment officer, Legacy Trust

_Lindsay Anes, director of business development, Owen-Ames-Kimball Co.

—Brian Balke, investment associate, Legacy Trust

—Jocelyn Dettloff, resource development director, Disability Advocates of Kent County

—Holly Gritter, outreach coordinator, Seel LLC

—Meegan Holland, state news editor, MLive

—Jeff Ott, partner, Warner Norcross & Judd LLP

—Amelea Pegman, volunteer and community director, ArtPrize

—Ric Roane, partner, Warner Norcross & Judd LLP

—Mary Ann Sabo, president, Sabo Public Relations

—Randii Smith, administrative associate, Legacy Trust

—Deb Walker, co-founder of the Legacy Trust Award Collection, community member-at-large

—William Walker, president and CEO, Legacy Trust

This year, in addition to sponsoring three artists in ArtPrize, the committee has established the Lillian Perry Walker award to honor the young woman whose spirit was the spark that brought LTAC to life.Along with having their artwork entered into ArtPrize, the winning artists will receive a cash prize of $500.  All entry fees and promotion expenses for ArtPrize will be paid for by Legacy Trust, who will secure venue space at ArtPrize 2013 for the winning artists.

ArtPrize is scheduled this year from Sept. 18 to Oct. 6 in downtown Grand Rapids.

Legacy Trust is an independent, locally owned, Michigan-chartered bank that specializes in providing investment and wealth-management services to individuals, families, foundations and non-profits in West Michigan, delivering highly customized financial and investment solutions. For more information, visit us at www.legacygr.com.