Snyder makes appointments to Task Force on Prevention of Sexual Abuse of Children

 Gov. Rick Snyder today announced 15 appointments to the Task Force on the Prevention of Sexual Abuse of Children, including three from Greater Grand Rapids and nearby.

The task force was established in accordance with "Erin's Law,” which protects against the sexual abuse of children. The 15-member task force has one year to provide recommendations for reducing child sexual abuse. These recommendations will help in the creation of goals and guidelines for state and school policies.

“Protecting our children is one of the most important things we can do as a state,” Snyder said. “I thank this group of appointees and I am confident they will do good work on behalf of Michigan’s children.”
Appointed from the Greater Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo areas were:

—Thomas Cottrell, of Ada, the vice president of counseling services for the YWCA of West Central Michigan, where he has served for 10 years. He is also an adjunct professor at the Western Michigan University School of Social Work. He is a local and state trainer on child sexual abuse, domestic violence and sexual assault. Cottrell earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology and a master’s in social work from the University of Michigan. He will represent individuals who have experience and expertise in the fields of intervention and prevention of child abuse;

—Tom Knapp, of Wyoming, the chapter coordinator of the Michigan chapter of the National Children’s Alliance where he oversees and works with all of the children’s advocacy centers in Michigan. He is also a part-time faculty member at Grand Valley State University and the executive director of the Society of Michigan EMS Instructors and Coordinators, and has experience as a law enforcement investigator of child sexual abuse cases. Knapp earned an associate of applied arts and sciences in criminal justice from West Shore Community College and a professional certificate from Davenport College. He will represent the Michigan chapter of the National Children’s Alliance; and

—Phyllis Van Order, of Battle Creek, the coordinator of the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program for sexual assault services of Calhoun County and Bronson Battle Creek, and the YWCA of Kalamazoo. She has professional experience in the care of sexual assault patients and is a founding member and past president of the Michigan chapter of the International Association of Forensic Nurses. Van Order earned a degree in nursing from Kellogg Community College. She will represent individuals who have experience and expertise in the fields of intervention and prevention of child abuse.

Others appointed from around the state include:
—Mark Boody, Waterford, a sergeant with the Novi Police Department. He has experience in investigation of child abuse/child sexual abuse and parti-
cipated in the 2009 revision of Oakland County’s child abuse protocol;

—Denise Busley, Traverse City, the co-founder and owner of Grand Traverse Pie Co., and the board president of Zero Tolerance: ENDING Child Sexual Abuse;

—Johanna Buzolits, of Plymouth, the project director for the Michigan Domestic and Sexual Violence Prevention Treatment Board and a psychologist in private practice. Buzolits coordinates statewide sexual response initiatives, including training development for the Sexual Assault Response Team;

—Deborah Carley, Troy, the division chief for children and youth services for the Department of the Attorney General, with experience in child abuse and neglect, physical child abuse and sexual assaults;

—Kristen Clark, Ann Arbor, executive director of human resources for the Washtenaw Intermediate School District where she coordinates school response to child sexual abuse and investigation, and works with community partners. Clark earned a bachelor’s degree in criminal science from Eastern Michigan University and a law degree from the Thomas M. Cooley Law School;

—Jerry Dorsey, Farmington Hills, the chief of trials and litigation for the Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office where he works in the child abuse unit and is deputy chief of the special victims unit. Dorsey is chair of the Wayne County Council Against Family Violence, and earned a bachelor’s and a law degree from Wayne State University;

—Pamela Fitzgerald, a member of the Jackson Public Schools Board, retired principal and teacher from Jackson High School, with experience working with Children’s Protective Services, and foster and adoptive parent associations;

—Kathy Hagenian, of Novi, executive policy director for the Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence. She has worked in the field of intervention and prevention for over 25 years and has experience in policy, protocol and curriculum development;

—Mary Lovik, Okemos, the staff attorney for the Michigan Domestic and Sexual Violence Prevention and Treatment Board, previously an adjunct professor for Detroit College of Law at Michigan State Uni-
versity and as publications administrator and research attorney for the Michigan Judicial Institute.

—Cheryl Matthews,  of Sylvan Lake, a family court judge with the Oakland County Circuit Court. Previously, she was an Oakland County prosecutor, serving as chief of the child sexual assault unit;

—Dorie Vazquez-Nolan, of Macomb Township, executive director of the Macomb County Child Advocacy Center and Care House.
Members serve one-year terms expiring June 17, 2015. The appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.