Duly Noted . . .


Law school deans to speak at WLAM Foundation reception “Toasting Education of Dynamic Women”

The Women Lawyers Association of Michigan (WLAM) Foundation has announced that this year’s reception will feature a “TED” Talk with Deans Jocelyn Benson (Wayne State University Law School); Phyllis L. Crocker (University of Detroit Mercy School of Law); and Joan W. Howarth (Michigan State University College of Law).  The reception is also the occasion to introduce the ten 2015 Outstanding Women Law Students chosen to receive a total of $30,000 in scholarships supporting their law school education. Awardees were selected on the basis of demonstrated leadership on women’s issues, through a competitive process. 

2015 marks the WLAM Foundation’s 19th year of making awards to deserving women law students. In that time, 225 awardees have received a total of $530,000 in financial support. 

The Awards Reception takes place at the Great Lakes Culinary Center, 24101 West Nine Mile Rd., Southfield, on March 25 from 5:30-7:30, at a suggested donation of $30 per attendee.  There will also be the opportunity to network with other lawyers and donors.  Please register for the event by March 20: contact Barb at 248-740-7003 to charge by phone, or charge online at www.wlamfoundation.org.

The WLAM Foundation’s web site also offers opportunities to support the scholarship fund as a member of the Dean’s List, supporters at levels above $150. Virtually all donations go directly to scholarships, and they are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Canute selected to serve on the board of directors for Lake Michigan Academy

Attorney Nikole L. Canute of Mika Meyers Beckett and Jones has been selected to serve on the Board of Directors for Lake Michigan Academy, a non-profit school for children with learning differences.

Canute practices labor and employment law, civil litigation, fraud investigation, fraud litigation and securities litigation. She received a bachelor of arts degree from Alma College, and a law degree from Notre Dame Law School in 2005.