NALS of Michigan announces officers, awardees

The Michigan chapter of NALS, the association of legal professionals, made the following announcements after their 54th Annual Meeting and Education Conference held April 24 in Midland.

The following officers, shown in the photo at left, were elected to serve a one year term:

President – Vicki Ballinger, PLS, Foster Swift Collins & Smith, PC, Lansing

President Elect – Wil Antonides, ALP, Grand Rapids

Vice President – Diane Berry, PLS, Plunkett Cooney, Kalamazoo

Executive Secretary – Lynn Philp, Warner Norcross & Judd LLP, Grand Rapids

Treasurer – Jodi Velez, Jarboe & Pfeil, Traverse City

Parliamentarian – Julie Cowles, PP, PLS, Martineau Hackett, Midland

Executive Advisor – Sandy Lavender, CHRS, Clark Hill, Detroit

Legal Professional of the Year

Dolores Oliver, PLS, was honored with the Legal Professional of the Year award. Oliver is an active member of the Lansing Chapter, past President of NALS of Lansing, and past President of NALS of Michigan. She has obtained her PLS certification from NALS and has been a legal assistant at The Accident Fund, Lansing, for the past nine years. Oliver also volunteers at St. Lawrence/Sparrow Hospital, Lansing; Immaculate Heart of Mary Church, Lansing; and Order of Discalced Carmelites.

Each year NALS of Michigan awards a $1000 scholarship to a deserving student pursuing a degree in the legal field. This scholarship is based on scholastic or legal career achievements, future career goals, financial need, and leadership activities. Morgan Lavender of Oxford, MI, senior at Oxford High School, is the 2015 recipient. Lavender is the youngest of four children, with plans to attend Western Michigan University, legal studies/pre-law. She will join ROTC at Western and after serving her country, plans to work for the FBI.

Clara LaGow Award
The Clara LaGow Award is presented to honor the local Michigan chapter whose highest percentage of members obtained the combined Accredited Legal Professional (ALP), Professional Legal Secretary (PLS), and Professional Paralegal (PP) certifications during the previous year. This year’s award was presented to the Grand Traverse Association of Legal Professionals chapter.

For information regarding NALS of Michigan, membership, education, and/or certification, see or