Duly Noted


Michigan Defense Trial Counsel names leaders

Michigan Defense Trial Counsel, Inc. (MDTC), an association of the leading lawyers in the state dedicated to representing individuals and corporations in civil litigation, has announced its 2019-2020 leadership.

New board members include Edward P. Perdue of the Grand Rapids office of Dickinson Wright as well as Michael J. Cook of Collins Einhorn Farrell.

The new president will be Irene Bruce Hathaway of Miller Canfield Paddock & Stone in Detroit. Terence P. Durkin, Kitch Drutchas Wagner Valitutti & Sherbrook, will serve as vice president; Deborah L. Brouwer, Nemeth Law, will be treasurer; and the secretary will be John Mucha of Dawda, Mann, Mulcahy, & Sadler. Joshua K. Richardson, Foster Swift Collins & Smith, is the immediate past president.

Additional members of the Board of Directors include Michael J. Jolet, Daniel O. Cortez, Richard J. Joppich, Gary S. Eller, Kimberlee A. Hillock , Dale A. Robinson, John C. W. Hohmeier, A. Tony Taweel and Carson J. Tucker.

The organization’s regional chairperson for the Grand Rapids area is Mark J. Magyar of Dykema.

Other regional chairs include:

—Flint: Megan R. Mulder,

—Saginaw: Robert A. Jordan,

—Marquette: Jeremy S. Pickens;

—Traverse City: Matthew W. Cross;

—Lansing: Michael J. Pattwell; and

—Southeast Michigan: Joseph E. Richotte.

As the State’s premier organization of civil litigators, MDTC impact is felt through its amicus briefs, often filed by express invitation of the Supreme Court, through its far reaching and well respected quarterly publication and through its timely and well received seminars. Membership in MDTC also provides exceptional opportunities for networking with fellow lawyers, potential clients and members of the judiciary.