WMU-Cooley Law School Lansing campus holds Honors Convocation


(left) - Elizabeth Anne Johnson was presented with WMU-Cooley’s Leadership Achievement Award, during the July 21 Honors Convocation. (right) - Jesse Bergwerff and Alyssa Andrews were presented with WMU-Cooley’s Alumni Association Distinguished Student Award.

Photos courtesy of WMU-Cooley Law School

Lansing— On July 21, WMU-Cooley Law School’s Lansing campus held a convocation honoring students who will be graduating following the law school’s summer term.

Elizabeth Anne Johnson was presented with the Leadership Achievement Award.

Originally from Grand Rapids, Johnson earned her bachelor’s degree from Cornerstone University. While at WMU-Cooley she was a member of the Christian Legal Society, Organization of Women Law Students, the American Bar Association Law Student Division, and served various roles with Student Bar Associations. Additionally, she served in the WMU-Cooley Ambassador Program, and participated as a Mock Trial competition member.

The Alumni Association Distinguished Student Award was presented to Alyssa Andrews and Jesse Bergwerff. The recipients are selected by the past presidents and executive committee of the WMU-Cooley Alumni Association. 

Andrews, originally from Holly, was also presented with the Student Bar Association Distinguished Student Award. She earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Wayne State University. At WMU-Cooley she served as president of the Organization of Women Law Students and participated in the Oakland County Inns of Court. 

Bergwerff, a U.S. Army veteran hailing from Hudsonville, earned his bachelor’s degree from Calvin College. At WMU-Cooley, Bergwerff served as a senator for the Student Bar Association and was a member of the law school’s Mentorship Program.

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available