Rob Buchanan sworn in as new president of state bar


Rob Buchanan, of Grand Rapids, has been sworn in as the 86th president of the State Bar of Michigan.

Michigan Supreme Court Chief Justice Bridget Mary McCormack presided at the virtual ceremony on September 17.

Buchanan is cofounder and managing member of Buchanan & Buchanan, PLC in Grand Rapids, and concentrates his practice on plaintiff medical malpractice, auto and truck accidents, and commercial litigation. In addition to his service with the State Bar of Michigan, he has also served in various roles with the Michigan State Bar Foundation, Federal Bar Association, Grand Rapids Bar Association, Michigan Association for Justice, and International Society of Primerus Law Firms.

Chief Justice McCormack also swore in other officers for the 2020-2021 bar year, including President-Elect Dana M. Warnez of Center Line, Vice President James W. Heath of Detroit, Secretary Daniel D. Quick of Troy, and Treasurer Joseph P. McGill of Livonia.

Buchanan has been involved in State Bar work for over a decade and has served on many of its committees and groups. He has served on the SBM Board of Commissioners and as treasurer, secretary, vice president, and president-elect.

Buchanan received his bachelor’s degree from Kalamazoo College and earned his law degree from Wayne State University Law School.

Chelsea Rebeck of Southfield was sworn in as the chair of the State Bar of Michigan Representative Assembly for 2020-2021. The 150-member Representative Assembly is the final policy-making body of the State Bar. The Michigan Supreme Court created it in 1971 at the request of the SBM Board of Commissioners in order to increase geographical representation and member participation in State Bar policy.

Rebeck represents the Sixth Judicial Circuit in the Assembly.

A partner with Rebeck & Allen in Southfield, Rebeck is also a certified public accountant and focuses her practice on tax law for individuals and businesses.

Rebeck is also a member of the SBM Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee and the Tax Section. She received her bachelor’s degree from Baker College and her law degree from Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School.

The Representative Assembly also elected Gerry Mason of Marysville as the clerk for 2020-2021.


Subscribe to the Legal News!

Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more

Day Pass Only $4.95!

One-County $80/year

Three-County & Full Pass also available