Supreme Court names committee members

The Michigan Supreme Court has announced its appointments to the Committee on Model Civil Jury Instructions, which drafts standard instructions for juries in civil cases.

The 21-member Committee on Model Civil Jury Instructions, created under Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 2001-6, is composed of judges and attorneys appointed by the Supreme Court.

Members are appointed for three-year terms and may be reappointed for two additional terms.

The court appointed Oakland County Probate Court Judge Elizabeth M. Pezzetti to succeed Monroe County Probate Court Judge John A. Hohman Jr.

Also appointed was Farmington Hills attorney Donald J. Gasiorek of Gasiorek, Morgan, Greco, & McCauley PC to succeed Southfield attorney Joseph C. Smith of Smith & Gibson PC.

The court also reappointed the following committee members:

• State Court of Appeals Judge Douglas B. Shapiro Lansing.

• Patricia J. Boyle, Kienbaum, Opperwall, Hardy, & Pelton PLC, Birmingham.

• Daniel J. McCarthy, Lippitt O’Keefe PLLC, Birmingham.

• Noreen L. Slank, Collins, Einhorn, Farrell, & Ulanoff PC, Southfield.

• Gary P. Gordon, Dykema Gossett PLLC, Lansing.

Each will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2015.

The committee is composed of attorneys and judges whose duty is to ensure that the Model Civil Jury Instructions are concise, understandable, conversational, unslanted, and not argumentative.

The Model Civil Jury Instructions are online at

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available