JTC members gather for a photo


- Photo by John Meiu


Members of Michigan’s 2011 Judicial Tenure Commission (JTC) recently gathered for a group photo. Currently serving on the commission are (seated, left to right) JTC Vice Chairperson Oakland County Circuit Court Chief Judge Nanci J. Grant; JTC Chairperson Thomas J. Ryan, and JTC Secretary Michigan Court of Appeals Judge David H. Sawyer; along with (standing, left to right) Nancy J. Diehl, JTC Executive Director Paul J. Fischer, Brenda L. Lawrence, Richard W. Long, Wayne County Circuit Court Judge Jeanne Stempien, Iosco County Probate Court Chief Judge John D. Hamilton, and Kent County 62A District Court Judge Pablo Cortes. The JTC serves to promote the integrity of the judicial process and preserve public confidence in the courts. Michigan created the commission when voters passed an amendment to Article 6, § 30 of the Michigan Constitution in August, 1968. The enabling court rule is now codified in MCR 9.200.  The JTC generally meets on the second Monday of each month, unless otherwise decided by the Commission.