Introducing the Judicial Tenure Commission


– Photo by John Meiu

Members of Michigan’s 2013 Judicial Tenure Commision (JTC) recently gathered for a group photo. Currently serving on the commission are (seated, left to right) Michigan Court of Appeals Judge David H. Sawyer, JTC vice chair; Oakland County Circuit Court Chief Judge Nanci J. Grant, JTC chair; and Kent County 62A District Court Chief Judge Pablo Cortes, JTC secretary; along with (standing, left to right) Crawford County Probate Court Judge Monte Burmeister; Sylvan Lake attorney Thomas J. Ryan; Detroit attorney Nancy J. Diehl; JTC Executive Director Paul J. Fischer; Southfield Mayor Brenda L. Lawrence; David T. Fischer; and Wayne County Circuit Court Judge Michael M. Hathaway. Michigan created the commission when voters passed an amendment to Article 6, § 30 of the Michigan Constitution in August, 1968. The enabling court rule is now codified in MCR 9.200.  The JTC generally meets on the second Monday of each month, unless otherwise decided by the commission. Meetings are not open to the public, unless the commission is conducting a public hearing as required in formal complaint proceedings. ?