Circuit Court to celebrate Adoption Day

The Family Division of the Oakland County Circuit Court will celebrate the 14th Annual Celebration of Michigan Adoption Day on Tuesday, Nov. 22, at 9 a.m. in the Board of Commissioners Auditorium at the Oakland County Circuit Court. This event is being held in conjunction with over 30 other courts throughout the State of Michigan highlighting the importance of adoption and the needs of children in foster care.

Courthouses are rarely a place of happiness and celebration, but on Tuesday, Nov. 22, 13 children and nine families will celebrate their finalizations with the theme of “Giving Thanks for Families,” coinciding with the Thanksgiving holiday.

Michigan Supreme Court Justice Joan L. Larsen will be on hand to celebrate and finalize the adoptions along with the Oakland County Family Division judges and Circuit Court Chief Judge Nanci Grant.

According to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, there are approximately 12,600 children currently in foster care. There are approximately 2,600 children whose parents’ rights have been terminated and have a goal of adoption, of which about 300 children still need a forever family through adoption. In fiscal year 2016, more than 2,000 children were adopted through the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services and partner adoption agencies.

In conjunction with Adoption Day, the Family Division judges will present the Arthur Eugene Moore Champion of Children Award to Charles Ludwig, of CARE House of Oakland County, and Julia Rizzi, of the Department of Health & Human Services, whose contributions have significantly and positively influenced the lives of children in Oakland County. The Sandra Silver Advocate for Children Award will be presented to John K. Maloney and J. Douglas Otlewski, of the law firm Otlewski & Maloney PC, for their dedication and work representing parents and children.

Subscribe to the Legal News!
Full access to public notices, articles, columns, archives, statistics, calendar and more
Day Pass Only $4.95!
One-County $80/year
Three-County & Full Pass also available